Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicola Doherty

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.
Juno has a phobia of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies – the usual. When she goes on holiday with her mum’s adrenaline-mad husband and his twins, she holds little hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he’s everything Juno doesn’t like. Or is he? Juno’s about to discover there’s nothing more scary than falling in love.

This is the first YA novel from author Nicola Doherty and whilst I’ve loved everything else I’ve ever read by Doherty I went into this read with fresh eyes.

What I found within the pages was an engaging read which allowed my mind to travel.
 
When Juno first arrives at the ski resort she believes that this is going to be the week from hell. But that is before she meets chalet girl Tara and ski instructor Boy.
 
Juno is a great character to discover and I loved her journey as she started to get out of her head space and into the world around her.
 
There is something about Boy and Juno’s pairing that was really heart warming,. Maybe it is the fact that they learn from each other or the way they long to see each other happy but I couldn’t help smiling at the times they shared together.
 
Now I have to admit there was a concept mentioned in this book which really caught my attention and if anyone reading this knows of any bars/clubs that offer dice nights then please point me in the right direction.
 
Love and Other Man-Made Disasters, is a coming of age story about love and friendship. It will have you wanting to devour it in one sitting whilst leaving you longing for ski slopes, hot chocolate and a sexy ski instructor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
%d bloggers like this: